Minutes: Ordinary Meeting of Constable Burton and Finghall Parish Council – 9th May 2022

Parish Council of Finghall and Constable Burton
Minutes 0f a Meeting
Held in the Reading Room at Constable Burton on
Monday 9th May 2022 at 7:30pm

Present:Ian HainsworthOut going Chair Person
Joan HainsworthOut going Clerk to the Parish
Barry SnarrDeputy Chair
Dave IrwinParish Councillor for Hauxwell
Hilly DobsonParish Councillor for Constable Burton
Attendees:Roland Terry, Cathy Ayers, Simon Lemm, Dawn Lemm.
Apologies:Howard Smith.
  1. Agenda. The agenda for the meeting was published on the 2nd May 22. 
  2. Declaration of Interests. Prior to the meeting it was confirmed that: 
    1. Ian Hainsworth would step down from Chair Person to the Council and would retire from the Council. 
    2. Joan Hainsworth would step down from Clerk to the Council and would retire from the Council. 
    3. Howard Smith’s name would be put forward as Chair Person elect. 
  3. Election of Persons to the Council. 
    1. Chair Person. Howard Smith was elected to the appointment of Chair Person: 
      1. Proposed by Barry Snarr. 
      2. Seconded by Hilly Dobson. 
    2. Parish Councillor to Hauxwell. Dave Irwin was elected as Parish Councillor to Hauxwell. 
      1. Proposed by Barry Snarr. 
      2. Seconded by Hilly Dobson. 
    3. Temporary Chair Person. Barry Snarr was elected to the appointment of Temporary Chair Person for the purpose of the meeting. 
      1. Proposed by Dave Irwin. 
      2. Seconded by Hilly Dobson. 
    4. Parish Councillor and Temporary Clerk. Hilly Dobson was elected as Parish Councillor and to the appointment of Temporary Clerk for the purpose of the meeting. 
      1. Proposed by Barry Snarr. 
      2. Seconded by Dave Irwin. 
  4. Minutes. The Chair confirmed that all members had read the minutes of the last Committee Meeting and that they were a true reflection of proceedings. The minutes were accepted unanimously: 
    1. Proposed. Dave Irwin. 
    2. Seconded. Hilly Dobson. 
    3. Matters Arising. There was a need for more Council members.  
  5. Precept. It was confirmed that the Council had a precept to the value of £3,220. 
  6. Audit. The audit by the Clerk to the Parish had not yet been completed. The audit must be submitted to J.K. St Johns by the 1st Jul 22 to avoid a penalty of £40 per day. 
  7. Dog Bins. A Dog Bin had been installed in Constable Burton and Finghall and a receipt for £540 had been received. 
  8. Any Other Business.  
    1. Rowland Terry reported that a wooden footpath sign in Barden, close to the phone box, was broken. He added that it may have been broken on the same evening when a dog was stolen from a house in Barden. 
    2. Dave Irwin said that the partner of Mr Dalton junior would like to be nominated as a Parish Councillor. 
    3. Joan Hainsworth reported that Finghall Bank has a suspected ‘spring’ and that it should be reported to and investigated by Area 1 of Richmond District Council. 
    4. Cathy Ayers reported the re-occurrence of pot-holes on Mill Lane opposite numbers 2 and 3. 
  9. Expenses. Joan Hainsworth reported that the following payments had been made: 
    1. Cheque number 616 to the value of £500 YLCA wages. 
    2. Cheque number 617 to the value of £ 540 for two dog bins. 
    3. Cheque number 618 to the value of £20 for Clerk’s expenses. 
  10. Retirement of the Parish Clerk. The Parish Clerk handed over all correspondence, audit papers, bank statements, cheque book and computer. Barry Snarr took possession of these items for safe keeping. 
  11. Retirement Gifts. Joan and Ian Hainsworth were presented with gifts of a climbing rose and a bottle of whisky to mark their retirement from the Council. They were both thanked by Hilly Dobson and Barry Snarr for their service on behalf of the Parish over a period of 38 years. Cathy Ayers thanked both Joan and Ian for their service to the Parish on behalf of  Parishioners of Constable Burton. 
  12. Date of Next Meeting. The date of the next meeting was to be decided. The next 3 annual meetings would be held in August and November 2022 and in February 2023. 
  13. Meeting Closed. The meeting closed at 8.30pm. 

Hilly Dobson
Temporary Clerk to the Meeting and
Parish Councillor

Telephone: 01677 450460
10th May 2022

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.